Making the Environment

16 Apr

As I planned my environment would be a toy shelf most of the time. But alas I will have to set up the room said shelf is contained in if I want to free up the camera’s (aka the kid) movement more.

The basic construction of the room. It's much easier to see the insides if you reverse the normals (if you want know in depth how to do this and how to model an entire interior room watch this set of tutorials.

The basic construction of the room. It’s much easier to see the insides if you reverse the normals (if you want to know in depth how to do this and how to model an entire interior room watch this set of tutorials. The tutorial guy (says to save it as an ascii but just save your files in binary since it works on all the latest version of maya for a smaller file. Though ascii is indeed best it you want to edit the script.

For the main part of the environment (the oh so important shelf that will house my toys) is 100% made up of polygon cubes. For the supports (holders? bits under the plank?) I simply manipulated some vertices added some edge loops and smoothed the mesh to give it slightly rounded edges (wouldn't pass the manufacture's safety test if they were sharp and pointy).

For the main part of the environment (the oh so important shelf that will house my toys) is 100% made up of polygon cubes. For the supports (holders? bits under the plank?) I simply manipulated some vertices, added some edge loops and smoothed the mesh to give it slightly rounded edges (wouldn’t pass the manufacture’s safety test if they were sharp and pointy).

I used a mia_material_x preset (glassSolid) for the shelf boards and a satinedMetal preset blended with 25% chrome for the supports.

I used a mia_material_x preset (glassSolid) for the shelf boards and a satinedMetal preset blended with 25% chrome for the supports. The back of the shelf is a yellow blinn with turned down reflectivity.

I downloaded these lovely models from turbo squid to  populate the empty room a bit. For the door I used the texturing method shown below. I used a chrome material for the handles. For the window is a combination of blinn (frame), mia_material (glass of the window) and mia_material's copper preset (for the handle).

I downloaded these lovely models from turbo squid to populate the empty room a bit. For the door I used the texturing method shown below. I used a chrome material for the handles. For the window is a combination of blinn (frame), mia_material (glass of the window) and mia_material’s copper preset (for the handle).

Graph network for my door shader (tutorial here).

Graph network for my door shader (tutorial here).

Lighting

I tried out Maya's built in sun and sky lighting first. It may have looked pretty but it doesn't illuminate the whole scene as well (after all my focus was on the shelf). It's still a very neat effect though so I'll leave a tutorial here just in case...

I tried out Maya’s built in sun and sky lighting first. It may have looked pretty but it doesn’t illuminate the whole scene as well (after all my focus was on the shelf). It’s still a very neat effect though so I’ll leave a tutorial here just in case…

I downloaded florescent lights off  turbo squid and then proceeded to add a cylindrical area light to it (inevitable tutorial link).

I downloaded florescent lights off turbo squid and then proceeded to add a cylindrical area light to it (inevitable tutorial link). This wasn’t enough light to flood the whole room so I added another (default) area light.

Screen Shot 2013-04-16 at 12.53.57

To achieve a more realistic lighting I turned on global illumination and emitted a tone of photons. I know, this all sounds like the script of a badly written sci-fi movie. Tutorial insert.

Leave a Reply

